Committee of Diversity, Equity, Inclusion (CDEI)

The Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry is committed to diversity, equity, and inclusion at all levels and the Committee on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (CDEI) is reponsible for taking meaningful steps to create an environment free of all discrimination. CDEI has developed the DCB's Strategic Action Plan (SAP) which outlines the department and the CDEI's goals, separated into short- and long-term objectives. The SAP and details therein can be found in the SAP page accessed through the menu.
The CDEI is chaired by Prof. Peter Ford, the department’s Diversity Officer. Members from every group of stakeholders in our department is included in CDEI, including faculty members, graduate students, undergraduate students, postdocs, and staff (shown below). All policy recommendations will be proposed by the CDEI and discussed and voted on by the entire faculty.
The CDEI is also committed to openness, transparency, and dialogue with respect to all topics related to DEI. Quarterly townhall meetings will be held with the entire departmental community in order to hear from its stakeholders and develop new policies.

Members of the CDEI:

Undergraduates: TBD
Graduates: Sadia Nowshin, Emmanuel Lanuza, Kyle Brown, Osvaldo Ordoñez
Staff: Heather Gardner (Co-Chair), Iris Chan
Faculty: Peter Ford (Co-Chair), Andrea Carlini, Brandon Greene, Javier Read de Alaniz, Mahdi Abu-Omar, Bryanna Sylvester